Back to All Events

PLEXUS: Provenance

  • Salon, Melbourne Recital Centre 31 Sturt Street, Melbourne Ph: 03 9699 3333 (map)

MICHAEL BAKRNČEV  new work  (world premiere)
ELLIOTT GYGER  new work  (world premiere)
PAUL HINDEMITH  Clarinet Quartet  (1938)
LINDA KOUVARAS  new work  (world premiere)

featuring PLEXUS
with guest artist Michelle Wood (cello)

Tickets: $39 adults / $29 concession
(Three-concert package: $99 adults / $72 Concession)


PLEXUS celebrates the artistic richness and depth of our amazing city by offering three world premieres from three stellar Melbourne composers. Michael Bakrnčev, Elliott Gyger and Linda Kouvaras will share their compositional wonders, and take us on their three very distinct musical journeys. PLEXUS continues to pay homage to the Verdehr Trio by presenting another of their commissions Trio (2001) by the eminent Canadian composer Stephen Chatman. The provenance of this piece is the fragrant world of jazz as shown in his exuberant offering of three movements titled Scales, Blues and Dance. For the grand finale, PLEXUS is joined by the exquisite cellist Michelle Wood as we unearth a rare gem – the Hindemith Clarinet Quartet from 1938. This gorgeous piece clearly crowns Hindemith as the natural successor to the throne of great German compositional tradition, following Bach, Beethoven and Brahms.

PLEXUS: Provenance is co-presented with Melbourne Recital Centre as part of their 2017 Southbank Series.

Later Event: October 27